Smoke-Free Places Act: Overview

Smoke-Free Places Act

In March 2005, Dave Rodney, MLA Calgary-Lougheed and Chair of the Alberta Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission (AADAC), introduced private member’s Bill 201 the Smoke-Free Places Act. The Act received Royal Assent May 10, 2005 and took effect on January 1, 2006. It sets a minimum standard for all of Alberta, and protects minors from exposure to second-hand smoke.

Existing smoke-free bylaws that restrict smoking in all areas, take priority. If bylaws provide less protection from second-hand smoke than the new Smoke-Free Places Act, the Act will prevail as the local policy. It is the responsibility of individual businesses and organizations to find out what the current/pending smoking bylaws are in their municipality.

The following is a list of places that must be smoke-free if minors are permitted to enter:

  • Restaurants, banquet halls and entertainment facilities
  • Healthcare facilities
  • Public and private schools and school property
  • Common areas in residential buildings (hotels, motels, apartment and condominium buildings)
  • All offices and government buildings
  • Work vehicles
  • All enclosed public places including parking garages
  • Day nurseries
  • Reserved seating in sporting arenas or entertainment venues

A copy of Bill 201: Smoke-free Places Act and approved Amendments are available through the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

The printed copies of these documents remain the official versions.

Businesses were invited to attend information sessions held across the province.